Chapter 5: Anxiety

Last week:

We discussed the key principles of zombie survival:

Choosing the right friends.

Avoiding Zombie Weather:

 

A large amount of The Walking Dead comic book readers have came out to discuss the effect of cold weather on zombies. Blood flow keeps us warm, but as most zombie movies depicts, these undead creatures don’t live by their hearts. So does being in the cold really slow down zombies?

Scifi StackExchange is home to many theories about the chill affecting zombies. While it seems unlikely that the cold will kill the zombies because they don’t rely on warmth, muscle function is a huge factor. A body can’t move without it’s legs. Therefore, it is logical that the cold would freeze a zombie much faster than a human. David Dietle article on Cracked describes the freezing and thawing process as a destructive cycle to the undead. However, Dietle does not account for the lack of water in zombies. The soulless vessels carry no H2O in their body. Therefore, if the thawing process is uninterrupted, a zombie might not be destroyed. All is not lost because when a zombie is frozen, harsh winds or a swing of the bat could easily stop this defrosting process straight in its tracks.

While a perfect thawing process might not kill a zombie, it will definitely slow it down. So if you’re looking to run from a zombie, dive into the cold. Inches of snow helps too.

Chapter 5: Anxiety

“Stop!”

Sarah grabbed my hand as I tried to follow the policemen back into the dorms. Her fingers seemed to effortlessly find the wounded section of my palms from the mornings oven accident.

“Ouch! Hey, let go!”

“What are you trying to do?”

Her words stirred up a thought in my head. What was I doing? Why was I so keen on getting back into that wretched scene. Dead girl, violent attacks, gunshots, all these things have kept my mind in disarray. My phone wasn’t the only thing left in the dorm, I had forgotten my backpack which lies in the wooden floor of Sarah’s room. With it, my medication.

“Fuck! I forgot my meds.”

“What? What are you on?”

“It’s… it’s nothing.”

I never shared my condition with anyone. ADHD made me weird, I tried to refuse prescriptions but it wasn’t easy. 5 days and I had to revisit the doctor. They say ADHD can’t be cured, you can only keep it under control. Patients can live a normal life if they follow doctor’s instructions. Doctors know best. But they don’t. You don’t live a normal life. You pop a pill in the morning. Pray that the day goes by in a blink of an eye. At the end, you spend hour by hours, minute by minute worrying if something was gonna go wrong. What if someone figures out. What if you go into a breakdown. Then you try to shake it off. You look up and the entire whiteboard is full. You’ve learned nothing but the instructor is already leaving. You raise your hand but no one is left in the class. As you attempt to catch up to the professor, a voice comes up behind you reminding that you left your backpack on the seat.

“Sarah, I need to get back.”

I expected her to be confused about my sudden change of attitude but she stood up and filled her face with concern.

“What’s wrong?”

I’m wasn’t sure if I was ready to disclose such private facts about myself. Not even to Sarah. The last thing we needed was more worry. But I couldn’t hide it from her. Not if I cared about her. As I reestablished eye contact and mustered my wits, another gunshot sounded from the dorm and I immediately grabbed Sarah’s hand and pulled her towards the direction of home.

 

Reference:

http://scifi.stackexchange.com/questions/89653/how-do-zombies-survive-the-winter

http://www.cracked.com/article_18683_7-scientific-reasons-zombie-outbreak-would-fail-quickly.html

Leave a Reply

